Grammy

By Grammy

Preparations

We got up early so we could pick our blueberries before the heat of the day set in. See extra for today’s harvest. While I was out, I decided to prune the spent butterfly bush blossoms. Hubby filled the fountains and bird baths. They evaporate quickly in these temps. Let me back up to last night. Kristen and Chris celebrated their 19th anniversary yesterday. Kris went all out to create a memorable evening. They had finished the delish meal she made and were enjoying a swim in the pool. Somehow, the lining ripped and water started gushing out. Kristen called us frantic, worrying the water would flood her finished basement. We grabbed buckets and hoses and headed to Kristen’s. Most of the water and sand was had flowed down her back lawn rather than toward the house thankfully. I felt so sorry for Kristen. What a mess. This morning, Jamie called to say his pool pump had failed and asked Hubby to help him remove it. Another day when I’m happy not to be a pool owner. Hubby helped put the repaired pump back in action. I went to Kim’s to help her, Brooklyn and Mancil prepare the table decorations for Friday’s remembrance of her father. The children are doing their best to honor their father since his wife did nothing. I am helping as they need me. He was very involved in baseball and softball in our county; was even inducted in the local Hall of Fame. He was also a member of the American Legion, serving in that organization for decades. The children are combining those memories for the celebration. Hubby had two Knight’s meetings so I enjoyed our pizza dinner alone. It feels good to take a break. Hope your day was quieter. Stay safe especially if you are in the areas of this heat wave. Thanks for visiting. "The loss of my (their) father will always sting. But now, everything that I (they) do is in honor of him and celebrates his life". - rockygoforit

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.