Grammy

By Grammy

Whatcha Looking At?

My first task today was preparing the Boston pork butt for the crock pot. It took hours but my children would say I am just so slow. There was a lot of fat, muscle and a large bone to be removed. My sister’s pulled pork is always delicious. Her secret? Root beer, period. We’ll see if I have her touch. She is also cooking one. We plan to use completely different finishing BBQ sauces so folks will have a choice. I also made the pretzel strawberry jello salad. Hubby took my mother to get her eyeglasses repaired. We’re thinking she has been a bit wobbly due to the glasses being misshapen. My sister alerted us to the situation. Momma was quite happy to have them repaired. Since I was busy preparing food for tomorrow, hubby volunteered to pick Momma up take her to the eyeglass shop. This squirrel was outside the kitchen window enjoying the suet while I cooked. I’d prefer my song birds were able to eat it. The squirrels are not as timid this year and brazenly clean out the feeders. We are surrounded by trees. They need to get their food from the forest! Jamie has to go to Baltimore next week for business. Renee and Abi are heading to Missouri for a friend’s wedding. That means we will be taking Parker and Brooklyn to our campground before the tournament on Thursday. Jamie will meet us late Wednesday evening to pick up the boy. The two grands get along well so it should be a fun trip. Brooklyn will sleep at the camper for at least one night, maybe two. She will be going to NJ with a friend after the tournament. I am sure I’ve mentioned that Parker’s friend/teammate Rhys is Brooklyn’s soccer friend/teammate, Leah’s, brother. We will enjoy their company. Renee furnished our dinner again tonight so my work is finished for the day. It is 90°F outside, glad to stay in out of the heat. Hope you are safe from extreme temps as well. Thanks for dropping by. “As God contains all good things, He must also contain a sense of playfulness -- a gift he has shared with Creatures other than ourselves, as witness the tricks Crows play, and the sportiveness of Squirrels, and the frolicking of Kittens.” - Margaret Atwood

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.