Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Flying wheels! (But not a bin find!)

I took Archie round the Links first thing, and I was pleased to see this bike there again today - I'd seen it yesterday, but hadn't taken a photo. It's got the 'swinging wheels' I was so desperate to get in my (short lived) bicycling days... Now, this bike has straight handlebars, and one of those awful tortuous looking saddles, so obviously the rider isn't a doddery old granny...

I then got the bus in plenty of time to the hospital. I'm so lucky - one bus goes to both hospitals at opposite ends of the city.

The neurologist spent a long time with me, doing all her wee tests, most of which I've seen before, but a few new ones eg a sharp pin, or a piece of cotton wool touching all over, even the soles of my feet. She was intrigued at how weak my hands were. She explained it all to me, what she was checking, but of course, though I tried, I remember nothing of her explanations, but 'sticky proteins' or 'sticky neurons' stuck with me. I checked on the Internet, and yes, they're a thing. She's trying to establish if it's all coming from my back, or something else, she will send her findings to my doctor, my physiotherapist, and my neurosurgeon. But more tests needed - blood tests were done. And I gained one of those wrist strap thingies to wear in bed for my carpal tunnel, which is new. I have been told she’s ago it wasn’t CT.

Back home to watch the tennis, and yes, fell asleep...

Hazel has been busy today, she'll pop over tomorrow, Elizabeth is also back from holiday - both had the slight complaint that it was 'too hot'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.