curns' corner

By curns

Journey

Throughout the day, I was on edge as I knew I wanted to leave at 5pm. While there was nothing wrong with leaving at that hour, I had to be finished and out of the door within minutes to make the train. I'd packed first thing this morning, but I kept thinking of little bits I wanted to take, and I kept disappearing to grab something else as I sat working. I also had to go to the Co-op to pick up some LED lights I wanted to install in the flat. By the end of the day, I had discovered they were incompatible with my hub in Ryde, so I am still trying to figure out what to do.

I had my backpack and another holdall full of things we might need at the festival. Mostly, it was things for wet conditions: my walking shoes and waterproof layers. The forecast is for improved weather, but I don't want to be up to my knees in mud while wearing trainers.

I made it out of the door on time for the 5:13pm which pulled into Raynes Park on time. It was packed, but I knew I'd only be standing for a handful of stops before there would be a free seat. For some reason that was not clear, we departed four minutes late, which, given my change at Guildford was only ten minutes, put some pressure on from the start. By the time we arrived in Guildford, we'd turned that delay into a 12-minute one. I resigned myself to missing my connection, consoling myself that the delay repayment would be available.

As we pulled into Guilford, I noticed my Portsmouth Harbour train was still on its platform. I ran up and across the footbridge - breaking my own rule about not running for trains - and jumped onboard as the buzzer sounded to announce the closing doors. This train was also busy but, again, gradually cleared as we made our way towards the coast.   I moved down the carriages at the bigger stations, where more people got off. As we pulled into Portsmouth and Southsea, I was in the front carriage, ready for the sprint to the FastCat.

Unfortunately, I never made the sprint as the delay at Portsmouth and Southsea—almost within sight of our destination—stretched beyond the ten-minute interchange. Something had been thrown onto the railway line, and no trains were moving. Although our direction was clear, the trains already in Portsmouth Harbour couldn't move out, and there was no free platform.

There was no indication of how long the delay would last. So, I got off and walked as I had no chance of making the connection. I asked Apple Maps to find me a route to the Tesco in Gunwharf Quays. I used the delay to go to the grocery shop I'd otherwise need to go to when I got to The Island. I thought it was a productive use of time. Sadly, Apple Maps declared I was at my destination when I was nowhere near, and I spent time figuring out my own route. Ultimately, I used the One Stop at the station to buy chicken, which I thought I could air fry.

As a result, I had plenty of time at the Wighlink terminal ahead of the 8:20pm sailing. I checked what time the train I had been on made it to Portsmouth Harbour. It was about 20 minutes late, so I will make a Delay Repay claim. To add to my journey woes, once we'd boarded, the crossing was delayed by about ten minutes to allow a returning car ferry to enter the harbour. Somehow, we made up some of the time on the journey.

As I walked down the pier, I realised I'd only bought dinner, and I really should have bought some lunch for tomorrow. I used it as an excuse to buy Fish & Chips before walking to the flat. On the walk, the signs for the Festival shuttle reminded me why I was there. And, once I'd arrived, nothing really mattered. I watched the last episodes of Trigger Point (which I really enjoyed) before failing to make the LED lights work and heading to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.