KimberlyJenkins

By KimberlyJenkins

Goodbye Marburg!

Today was my last full day in Marburg/Großselheim! It seems like this trip has gone by wayyyy too fast, but I still get to enjoy an overnight trip to Heide Park with Franzie, Hanna, and Maddie tomorrow (: Today was super chill, though. We slept in and then I showered and caught up with some friends at home. Franzie and I then went upstairs and ate breakfast while watching TV with Katherina. We watched How I Met Your Mother, Scrubs, and some other German show and I decided that the English shows are MUCH funnier when you can hear the actor/actresses voice and can distinguish their voice fluctuations in a comedic sense. I really miss netflix. ha. Anyways, We then got ready to go grocery shopping for the family and headed out. We went to the local grocery store and picked up the normal things and some extra for our trip. We then stopped by an outdoor, pet store thing to look for something for Katherina's horse, Magic. (: I'm not sure if the horses name is actually Magic, or if she translated it for me...but it seemed like there was no translation. We also stopped at a gas station to get a coffee blend that they like and then headed home. The weather was beautiful so it was nice to drive around with the windows down listening to good music. (as this is one of my favorite things to do) We then headed home and watched some more TV with the rest of the family coming in an out of the room spontaneously. I always enjoy talking to Herr Dieter and realized that I'm most at ease talking to him, which is surprising as I have more nervousness or caution when talking to Franzie. He is extremely helpful and understanding when I talk in German or don't understand and it is awesome to have him around. He also seems like a big talker normally, so he always has something to say. I find it most interesting when he talks about random things going on (which happens often), because then I can learn new vocabulary and phrases. I was also able to get the pictures that the Kleinfelds have taken while I have been here, which was great because most of the family pictures were taken on their camera! I also gave them my pictures from Berlin, because they forgot their camera, and realized how many pictures I took in 3 days in comparison to the pictures they took in 1 month. Yes, I realize that this is their daily life, so they wouldn't have taken nearly as many pictures, but it was funny to see. We then went to eat dinner, my favorite meal that i've had here: sweedish meatballs (: Frau Angelica asked me what I wanted to eat, and I quickly answered this, which I hope was ok because I know they can be somewhat annoying to make. But hey, she said it was fine....I looked back on my first meal with the Kleinfelds and realized the drastic differences. I could actually understand what was being said (with some vocabulary help), I felt super comfortable, and I finished my meal (: I could ask for something else to drink without worry of it being rude and knew when to help take the dishes to the kitchen without getting in the way and that was awesome. If you end up becoming an exchange partner, though, I would recommend not worrying so much about offending people and just ask if that was ok, or if that was rude. Then, they understand that you're not trying to offend them (ever) and then you are still comfortable and can live more comfortably. For dessert we had raspberries from the backyard with yogurt on top. yumm. I can definitely do the whole fruit for dessert thing. I could eat fruit all day long! Franzie and I then headed downstairs and ended up watching Ellen Degeneres (my favorite thing to do on the computer) and then watched some German comedians from Michael Mittermeier to Cindy aus Marzahn. The dialects were difficult to understand, however, and the fact that comedians tend to talk really fast was difficult, but I mostly understood what was going on. We then got ready for bed early as we have to get up around 5am (shoot me) to go pick up Hanna and Maddie and then head to Heide Park (yaaaayyyy!). I'll end up being another day late to post tomorrow (i believe) so sorry again :( I can't help it!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.