Stace91

By Stace91

Bring Me All The Toys You Can Find

Playground

"Come with me to a place of fantasy,
I'll take you on a sea-saw,
Come with me to a place that's by the sea,
I'll take you on a boardwalk,
Take my hand I'll take you to the sand,
You and me will build a castle,
Ready set go I'll race you to the wall,
I will win I am the fastest.

I don't want to grow old,
Bring me all the toys you can find,
You don't want to grow up,
You can be my partner in crime"

This cupboard is home to the dolls from my childhood.

I have grown a lot in the last few weeks it is a strange feeling to sit in my room and look at these toys and wonder where the time has gone. I remember playing with my Nala and Simba dolls when I was 4 without a care in the world. The tweety in the pjs I got when I was still in diapers. Some of these were given to me in my teens, they all hold a special memory.

Is it weird for a grown woman to be emotional about dolls? When do we stop playing with our dolls? Do we wake up one morning and cast them aside, our best friends as children who we told all of our deepest darkest secrets to, who we cuddled when we were scared. When did they get the backseat? Or is it simply an expectation that grown ups shouldn't have toys. During my children services studies I once read that apart from physical differences boys and girls are the same it is society who tells us we like pink or that we like trucks.

Growing old is inevitable, but when did the fun stop? Now we worry all the time over little things that won't even matter in a week or two. Growing up isn't scary, forgetting the simple things is.

I love this song by sia because it reminds me of those simple things. Racing to the beach, playing water bombs, things that made you giggle till you were sick.

Though I have matured in the last few weeks, I don't want the fun to stop which it has. I want to ignite that flame again, do something a little reckless... God knows what they might be but he also knows I will find out.

Lets put the live back in living. Things won't seem so bad if we do... Right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.