Farmerboab

By Farmerboab

Tyred oot.....

One of those days again.
First job after going round the cattle was to run the car down to the garage to get a prop shaft bearing replaced. Got Kev to pick me up in the land rover. Once we got back,set about fitting the new bolt and bush to the topper blade that he lost the other day. In a bout of Health and Safety I got him to prop the end of the machine over a big square bale so it couldn't come down on top of me if everything went pear shape.
Sent him off to top thistles next door then went to hitch the baler tractor up to the fert spreader in the hope that the wind would drop enough to get some fertiliser onto another silage field ( it didn't).
Discovered a big pool of oil under the baler. Traced it to a loose coupling on a brake pipe. So after crawling about with a spanner and then topping up the tractor transmission oil it was dinner time.
Spent the afternoon with the mower opening up the end rigs of another grass field. Depending on the weather it will probably end up having to be wrapped in plastic .
A senior moment on my third time round the field when I hit a lick tub buried in the grass. It will have been there since the cattle were in the field last year. I would sack the cattleman for not lifting it, but that would be me !
So had to come home and get a chain onto the tyre and tub and haul it out the mower with the quad bike. Luckily there was no damage to my new mower. I'm turning into my Dad,that's the kind of things he did and we all used to call him a stupid old ....
Now that's me ! What goes around comes around.
Ho hum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.