Ilja

By Ilja

Part of the family history

My parents both worked in psychiatry as nurses in the psychiatric hospital here in our hometown. They also received part of their training here, back in the days when men and women were nursed in strictly separate wards. My mother was the first woman who was allowed to work in the men's department in this psychiatric hospital. That was in this building. I heard today that this will probably be demolished soon. Because I like to preserve a little piece of history, I drove around the site today for a photo, because all the other old pavilions have already been demolished. my parents met each other during their education. They both worked there for a long time, my father until his retirement. They have also seen the institution change from a very closed site to an open institution where people from the area are welcome to walk and cycle and walk the art route. As a child we often visited the site, because a lot was organized for patients, staff, family and interested parties. I have fond memories of it, and am convinced that this part of my youth has given me many extras in my upbringing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.