JanetH

By JanetH

Castlerigg stone circle

LPH Day Four - I nearly didn't make it this morning, switched the alarm off and went back to sleep, heard voices in the car park at 5.10am, managed to join them by 5.20pm. Seven of us made the early morning trip to Castlerigg stone circle. It was well worth getting up in time, the light was great and I really enjoyed the hour and a half we spent there. Not bad, 169 photos before breakfast!

After breakfast we set off for Thirlmere and had some time down by the lake and also up on the viewpoint above the lake. Then on to Loughrigg Tarn for lunch and the afternoon session, although it was rather hot and we were wilting by then!

I got a few pictures of damselflies, including two mating in flight. They can be seen here and here. Given that I had got up early though I just had to blip the stone circle, this picture was taken at 5:48am! I used bracketed exposure and merged them in photoshop.

Big Adventure Day 35 - Castlerigg, Thirlmere and Loughrigg
Photos 365/4752

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.