Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

A demanding climb

Ailie and I left the car at Clennell and followed the river before hitting the very steep climb up to the Old Rookland track. Over 1000ft almost straight up but then a lovely 6 miles to the abandoned farm and over the hill for panoramic views over valleys to Simonside in the distance. We were cross when we descended to Rookland and found a “No walkers” sign on the gate through the farm and no alternative route provided. The fence to the next track had barbed wire so after squelching through bog we had to head back uphill to reach a gate which gave access to a beautiful meadow. From there we could descend on a diagonal to reach the track back down to Clennell. I must remember in future to take the high level route back to the steep descent to the hill forts. I preferred not to do that as my knees were really painful on steep descents.

We were both quite tired by the end. The steepness is a killer for me as I have no oomph in my knees so have to use my poles to haul myself up. We weren’t able to zigzag as the bracken was too high - I think we escaped with no ticks though the clegs loved Ailie. Still we did it and hopefully will manage Copper Snout before the end of summer.

I’m glad we set off early as it’s raining now.

I’m off to read my book “Caledonian Road”. It took me a while to warm to it but now it’s getting grittier I’m more engaged.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.