An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

New crochet project...

After a very busy week, today has been a day of relaxation (for me anyway :-))

I had a lie in till 10am.  D returned his kilt to the hire shop in Perth and returned with a bunch of sunflowers for me and freshly baked tiger bread.  We had the most delicious bacon sandwiches for lunch along with coffee from our new coffee machine that arrived earlier in the week while we were at Loch Lomond :-)

After lunch I spent time in the studio preparing the slate for Mairi's thistle painting.  I then sketched various compositions before settling on one.  I am creating it as a watercolour on paper first (the commission is for acrylic on slate) to let her see what I am planning to do and make sure she is happy with it.

With the first washes of paint on, the lure of my new crochet project proved too much so I moved to the garden room and spent a happy couple of hours working on the baby blanket for Andrew and Nikki's new baby due at the end of January.  It looks an intricate pattern but it's actually very easy.  I  am enjoying it.

Dinner then some tv and I may have snoozed a little ;-))

This poem appeared on my Facebook this morning and it really struck a chord.  I am sure it will with many of you so will share it below :-)))


I am the taker of the photos…
I am the receiver of the groans, the eye-rolls and the hurry ups.
I am the one who disrupts the ‘moments’, to capture them.
And sometimes it’s hard to be that person.
But I am also the holder of the memories…
I am the one who keeps the precious proof.
I am the bearer of the stories, the maker of the photo books that bring tears, laughter and love rushing into the room each time they are opened.
And if you are too, please know you are capturing this life, as it happens.
You are capturing stages, ages, twists, turns and last moments no one could have foreseen.
And generations to come will thank you for it, even if no one does right now.
The eye-rolls will be replaced one day with absolute all-consuming gratitude, for the image of a smiling face so missed and a memory returned home to stay.
Keep disrupting life to capture it my friends, when it’s all that is left, someone somewhere will be so very glad you did.
Donna Ashworth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.