SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

JuMP-dev

Thanks to having had one more beer than I might normally drink last night, I slept through until 07:00 this morning, which is 12:00 UK time. However, I've thought that I've cheated transatlantic jet-lag before, and then woken in the early hours the next night.

It was warm enough to have breakfast of orange juice and coffee in the B&B's charming little garden, which was a sign that it would be a hot day. However, we were indoors attending JuMP-dev, a workshop for users of the JuMP open-source modelling language. И and I aren't JuMP users, but HiGHS is the go-to open-source optimization software for models built with JuMP, so there were plenty of people pleased to see us. As well as a short but invaluable conversation with one of the leaders of JuMP, I learned more about new uses of GPUs in optimization. I also got to chat with someone who is very interested in our PhD position. 

After the last talk, И and I had a valuable discussion about the prospective PhD student, on a taxi back into the area where we are both staying. I'm now resting, waiting to learn of the venue for food and drinks this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.