Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

4th of July

Five year since I've been back home for the summer. Always missing 4th of July and a gathering of the family. Homemade pulled pork barbeque, coleslaw, cherry pies, and ice tea. Circles of conversation and guffaws of jokes echoing throughout the house. Lounging under the shade of the oak trees on the back deck and my many aunts bustling in the kitchen. Fussing over food and catching up with one another. All the family together and how I miss it!

Of course, in the evening as the sun sets and the blood alcohol level rises fireworks inevitably appear. As usual my uncle Danny, in the photo, once again put my poor dad's Virginia bought fireworks to shame. His came from South Carolina, where a man's patriotism is measured by the size of his fireworks, apparently. And, the tradition continues. Maybe next time pops...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.