carliewired

By carliewired

113 F/ 45 C

Today should be the 
hottest on record - I hope
the forecast is wrong

~carliewired

I was awake far too early. No windows open overnight due to forest fire smoke so the house is stuffy and too warm for sleeping. I slipped out the door just after 5 to see the world before sunrise. It was a cool 17 C in my neighbourhood.

I got on Highway 5 and made a left turn onto Shuswap Road. I always enjoy this drive along the South Thompson River.

My first shot was the Wanda Sue, a replica paddlewheeler now idle.

I stopped for a couple of views north into the silt bluffs. I like to see the old rail fences and the rusty barbed wire. 

I was lucky to catch an eagle on the usual perch. It sat watching the river. I got two shots, blinked and it disappeared. 

The views of the South Thompson River were a bit hazy. I caught the back of Mt. Paul and Mt. Peter on the return drive. The sun finally peeked through into the valley. I caught it behind some sagebrush. 

I will be home for the day. I've not experienced a temperature above 40 C in the 50 years I've lived here,  so today could be a shocker. I can hope the weatherman is in error. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.