Trixie's Adventures

By TrixieTheCollie

No water in the trough?!!!

This morning I had two big walks. I did my normal trek along the beach and around town first thing. ….............And then at about 10.40am I went on another big walk. It wasn't really very hot and sunny, but it was warm & humid and I was thirsty................

We passed a little doggie who was having a drink from a portable water bottle. I've got one of those but Ann just keeps it in the car for me. She never carries water for me and I was getting thirsty.

…..........Ann's a bit like a camel. She thinks that just because she doesn't need water on a walk, neither do I. I had to resort to drinking out of a couple of muddy puddles. And then she said.................'Trixie, we're almost at the trough. You can have a lovely drink there.'

The 'St Ives trough' must be the bestest trough in the whole wide world. It usually has very clear, fresh water running into it all the time. 'MollyCollie' always used to wallow in the trough. It was one of her favourite places. I don't do wallowing in troughs, but what I do, do, is standing on the edge and having a drink.

Today there was NO water running into the trough. All there was, was a tiny little corner that still had some water in. Because I was so thirsty, I had to jump into the empty trough and drink up all the water that was in there.

Phew!!! At least I didn't dehydrate!!!

PS – My human had two compliments on my behaviour today. She felt like the proudest Collie pup mummy in the world!!!


….........Once, when a horse passed us and the horse rider said what a well behaved little Collie pup I was around horses. Mmmmmmm..................... Ann just lapped up the compliment and didn't say how scared I was around big animals. Lol! I was hiding behind her legs?!!


….............And once, when some holiday makers asked us if the path we were walking on was safe to let doggies off their leads?!  Duh!!! How safe is safe? …...............A path is only as safe as a dog's recall?!!  Holiday makers complimented Ann on how well I was walking beside her and said that their two dogs would never do that........................ 


Duh!!!.............So don't let them off their lead until you've taken the time to train them then??!!


Obv, I'm not  a 'perfect pooch', but I'm a lot more perfect than a lot of the dogs that we've seen around town today!!!....................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.