Kipsie

By Kipsie

Recycle, repurpose, reuse

In other words don't throw anything away .. Well, one of my well worn bras made it's way up to the allotment. Strips of old tee shirt, and redundant bras make great tree ties, so when the Devon Wildlife Trust did some clearing and left this poor birch without support I felt the urge to come to its rescue. Folks might think I've ripped my bra off mid walk to save this tree, but they would wrong, of course.  By supporting this tree it has also made it possible to walk across one of the old WW2 US black soldiers concrete barracks bases that remain on the heath. I also learnt to ride trotting around these abandoned bases back in the day ...

Phew! What else happened on Saturday. Mum & I began a new jigsaw puzzle, creating most of the outside, but have a feeling pieces are missing. I hope not. We shall carry on ... Mum came back to Chudleigh, we were going to watch the horseracing but there was live athletics from London, so we watched them whle eating our freshly baked sausage rolls.

IT was Chudleigh Carnival procession night so I drove us as far as we could & parked up, then walked the remainder to the Phoenix. We were able to watch the procession from a window sat inside the pub which was handy as John would'nt have been comfortable standing for very long. Not particularly well supported which was a shame, only 3 floats, 2 walking groups (the local residential learning difficulty adult centre, & the toddler group). I had a very interesting chat with an elderly gentleman who sat beside us....... 
 "I have a very unusual name christian name, it's Keble".
"Oh, I've only ever seen that name once before, the Reverend Keble Martin, the author of The New Concise British Flora".
"I was named after him. I spent my childhood with my grandparents & mother  deep in the countrside of Wales as my father was away in the war. The family knew Keble Martin through the church".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.