Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WILD FLOWER WEEK 17

I do like to see all flowers in their various stages - and this beautiful wild flower is in our garden meadow.

There are a variety of names attributed to it - and they are:
Bishop’s Weed
Bullwort
Laceflower
Lady’s Lace
May Weed
Queen Anne’s Lace

I know which one I prefer.

They have taken over from the Ox-Eye Daisies and are obviously home to a variety of insects, particularly in their early stages, where they can make their home in a little cocoon, as in the first one on the left - before the flower opens gradually - then in the centre, where there isn’t that much protection and then finally in the one on the right, where there is very little protection for tiny insects.

Definitely a wild flower and I’m sure will sit on our windowsill for a while in the lovely set of vases given to Mr. HCB by our Blip friend, Amanda_T.  

Thank you for your patience with me whilst my eyes are improving.  I have to say I’m glad that if anything had to go awry, I’m glad it was with the second operation and not the first!  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.