Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Seeing red

Can you spot the little bit of red that is left on the flame tree? (I tried to zoom in on it in the thumbnail).

Today has been good despite a few challenges. The day at work went particularly well when I finished the job which gave me a headache on Tuesday. I also got to sync with my boss, who has confirmed me until the end of the year. That was weird because I thought I had a job until the end of the year! Oh well.

I unpacked and set up the new turntable in the evening. That took longer than expected as there was more to put together than I imagined with the Manual/Quick Setup guide missing. It is at these times that you realise how wonderful the internet is! I played my Dire Straits (Money for Nothing) and Darts (Greatest Hits) records. The big disappointment is that the turntable is completely manual i.e. the arm does not return to rest after play. Why would they do such a thing in 2024, I would love to know.

The evening ended with me finally being able to log in to a Disney+ account and start to watch a movie. I soon had to stop it to investigate how to watch the opening ceremony of Paris 2024 tomorrow. It is shocking how TV/media companies make it almost impossible for ordinary people to have access to large-scale sporting events. The subscription rates were ridiculous, going over $100 per month. I eventually contacted the helpline of BeIn Sports, a Qatari company who aren't as world-class as they would like to think. The man at the help desk said that if I couldn't buy a satellite dish, then I had to buy a streaming subscription through a third-party provider. Their website has a list of whom to contact. Yup, very user-friendly and 21st-century.

It made my hunt to find an alternative even more pressing. I then discovered they had a subsidiary (tod.tv) that allowed you to buy an Olympics-only package for $3 - through their website!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.