Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Three keen swimmers

For me, the highlight of today's book group field trip to Pitlochry was a dip in Loch Faskally. I swam with ArcLight (left) and Winsford (centre). Meanwhile RidgeBack13, LauraMuir, and Melissa witnessed our antics from the shore. 

Immediately after our swim, ArcLight set off for Tain and the rest of us popped into the station bookshop for a browse. We enjoyed a little more of one another's company back at Winsford's house, then thanked our host for a lovely day and headed home to Edinburgh and Glasgow.

Earlier in the day over lunch we discussed The bookseller of Inverness. I was probably the most critical of the book. My main issue was with the dull writing. The story itself, which is actually quite exciting, could have been related in a far more imaginative way. This might have been achieved, for example, with the use of stronger vocabulary, neater sentence structure, and some editing down of erroneous detail that didn't really add to the plot. 

I found it interesting that those who listened to the story (rather than read it) seemed to enjoy it more. Perhaps the skills of the narrator added something here? Although I wouldn't recommend the book, I was pleased to learn more about the Jacobites and their suffering at the hands of the Hanoverians. It was also fun to follow the plot across Highland locations that I know reasonably well.
 
I am grateful to Mr hazelh for looking after Mummy hazelh while I was out playing with my pals. They watched a lot of the first full day of Olympic coverage together.  
Exercise today: 20 minute swim; walking (11,865 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.