ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

A Foggy Day

It was great to finally meet Carl Fogarty (Foggy) yesterday as I avidly followed his motorcycle career during the 1990s - so much so that I still have some souvenirs from those days. The badge has always been on whatever bike jacket I own. Luckily it was a hot day yesterday, so I’d taken my jacket off before I met him, otherwise it could have looked a bit stalkerish! The mug and model bike live in the display cabinet in the study, but I was a bit disappointed to find that his signature on the bike had faded and almost disappeared when I took it out to photograph. I guess they didn’t have Sharpies back in the day! And I just liked the slogan on the mug.
The programme unfortunately highlights that I misremembered yesterday exactly when it was I saw him win at Donington. I thought it was 1997, but the programme is from 1999. I probably watched it on the telly though, so I was technically correct when I told him I’d seen him win in ‘97!
A quick search online has revealed that the model could be worth quite a few quid in good condition. Maybe I’ll take it to the next bike meet at Wray and ask him to sign it again…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.