carliewired

By carliewired

103 F/ 39 C

Today should be the 
hottest on our long weekend.
I will hide for sure! 

~carliewired

I was awake all too early about 4, but managed to put myself back to sleep for a couple of hours. I was off at 8:30 to the town of Sorrento about one hour's drive northwest of my house. 

I stopped in a little coffee shop for a breakfast with coffee. I got in the edge of the farmers' market so the area was a bit congested. Sorrento is on the Trans Canada Highway always very busy with traffic flow between British Columbia and Alberta plus all the summer activity around Shuswap Lake.

I'd read on Facebook that there was a Pottery Sale in the little community hall in Sorrento. One of the local artists, Rebecca, was sure to be there. I found a parking spot near the entrance to the hall. It was rather crowded inside with all the artists doing a brisk business today. I spotted Rebecca at her table. She has the most beautiful wildlife paintings. (Notice the fabulous bear) I got a shot of her back (in the grey shawl) but didn't get to speak to her. 

I stopped to speak to a young woman from Rossland, BC who was painting in acrylics on her easel. We had a lovely chat about painting so I asked if I could take her picture while she was painting. Her work is really stunning. Some of her landscapes were lighted from above so they appeared almost luminescent.

I was anxious to get home again before noon, so I zoomed off into the summer traffic once again. 

I arrived home to find our handyman had arrived without notice. We are always happy to have his company and we appreciate his skills. 

I'm in for the day and will find something to keep me busy while my cranky feet are propped up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.