carliewired

By carliewired

90 F/ 32 C

Heat will be a few
degrees less today, but I
will still hide from it

~carliewired

I was up before 5 filling the dishwasher and tidying up the kitchen. I was off to the downtown just after 6 on this hazy morning. I'd decided I would visit the Grande Dames along Seymour Street. A holiday Monday with everything closed gave me the opportunity to park in the City Hall lot without any fuss. 

My first stop was the Old Courthouse, now an artists' venue and display space. This lovely brick building was opened in its official capacity in 1909 and has been replaced by a much more modern court house. The city creates a beautiful garden in front of it each year. It is at its best right now. I took note of the British Columbian coat of arms over the front door. King Edward VII is credited with the motto  "splendor sine occasu".I do love the bighorn sheep.

I drove one block to park in front of St. Andrews on the Square. Sadly, it is still under repairs following a fire set outside on its southwest corner. I'm not understanding why the garden and fountain on its east side are still off limits to the public. The fence remains locked. The front door is still boarded up and I see the duct work for the heating/cooling system has been removed and stored in a small courtyard beside the building. 

While I was deciding if I should stand on a bench to peer over the fence, a senior from the next building came out of his apartment to have a walk in the cool of morning. He, too, was confused why the square was locked as he and other residents of his building have enjoyed this little park as their green space. Now, the best he can do is walk around the block on the pavement. 

I was home again just after 7 with my breakfast in hand. Our handyman says he will be here sometime today. We're always happy to see him and lunch will be on offer. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.