Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Hugo's Feet

Hugo is a six year old cob and is just joining the team at the riding project. He's been in quarantine for the past three weeks but was brought on to the yard this morning to meet some of the people at the stables. 

My daughter is a regular volunteer and today I joined her for a family fun day session. Three families came along. Each family had one disabled child and some brought non disabled siblings too. Every child had a chance to ride and to do some of the other fun activities. Fortunately for me (and everyone else) I was on stable sweeping duty first thing then serving tea and coffee. It wouldn't be to anyone's benefit to pair me with a horse but luckily there were plenty of other volunteers to do that. 

It was really good. All the families - from a three year old to a granny - had an enjoyable time. The rain stayed away and there was plenty of cake. The swallows were swooping round and there were some two week old kittens tucked away in a room with their mum. Lovely!

Hugo wasn't working today but he will be soon and will be a great addition to the current team of three horses, all of which have their quirks. I'm so glad I went along this morning to help. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.