An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Food for the soul…

On the recommendation of Blip Pal Mambo, D and I spent the afternoon at PLAS GLYN-Y-WEDDW the most amazing art gallery with the most amazing cafe!

Given the weather was a bit damp (thick fog but mild temperatures. Very surreal!) it was the perfect place to wile away the hours.

When we arrived there was a short wait for lunch in the very popular cafe. We were given a buzzer to alert us when our table was ready so we headed into the gallery.

Set in a beautiful ex-stately home built in 1857, the venue itself is a work of art, and the recently re-built cafe an award winning structure in its own right.

I fell in love with the place the moment we entered the very grand hall. What a sight!

The first room we entered contained many beautiful paintings, sculptures and ceramics, a real feast for the senses, and I could feel the familiar emotions rising in me that I experience whenever I’m faced with such examples of beauty, intrigue and originality. Fortunately our buzzer alerting us to the fact a table was available in the cafe prevented the lump in my throat overwhelming me.

Stomachs happy from our fabulous lunch, we headed back into the gallery and spent the rest of the afternoon happily immersed in all the place had to offer. We could very easily have bankrupted ourselves! Instead I contented myself with the purchase of a cute little ceramic toadstool, a handbag yes I did need it ;-) a ceramic pendant, and a beautiful book Llyn - A magical Place by local photographer Martin Turtle, and some greetings cards.

The mist was still down when we left so we headed home as after seeing all that amazing art, I was keen to get a paintbrush in my hand.

D dropped me off and headed back out to the golf driving range only to find it closed at 5pm and not the advertised 7.30pm! He stopped at the very glamorous glamping site not far from us and picked up delicious wood fired pizzas for dinner, freshly made to order in their pizza oven.

Mission Impossible offered an unintellectual but enjoyable end to a rather lovely day :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.