ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Tall Ships

We thought about going to the Barrow Tall Ships Festival yesterday, but ran out of time the end. Probably for the best as I heard that traffic on the A590 around Newby Bridge was fairly horrendous for most of the afternoon.
But when I popped to Morrisons in Barrow this morning, to get some fuel, I noticed that one of the ships - Pelican of London - was still tied up by the quay. Couldn’t get close up access but was able to stick my phone through the fence to take a photo.
The crew seemed to be in no hurry to do anything - I spotted several heading into Morrisons to buy lunch - and I would guess they might be waiting for high tide later this afternoon before sailing away.
As it happened, the A590 was no better today, with lengthy queues around Lindale thanks to the dual carriageway being down to one lane so they could cut the grass on the central reservation.
More rehearsal for Blackadder tonight and the forecast is for no rain. I think I’ll risk taking the bike so I can try and avoid any other roadworks that may have sprung up today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.