PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Jardin Prive

After our day out yesterday I am back to sorting fabrics. Today I took on the task of sorting and folding the huge stock of furnishing fabrics which Gordon’s sister gave me. I have explained about this before, but briefly a while back now she worked for a textile company in Carlisle where they printed and produced furnishing fabrics for John Lewis. Most of the fabrics were screen printed and my sister-in-law’s job was to transfer designs so the screens could be created for all the different colours. Anyone who has done any screen printing will know what a complex task this is. (I had a go once, but could not cope with it.)

The pieces I have are lengths of fabric which were used to test a print and were eventually discarded. I was given bags full of these lengths - what a treasure it was. I have since used quite a bit of it - I have made cushion covers and tablecloths etc. A few years ago I made everyone a bag for Christmas. Mainly though I use small pieces as backing for stitching. 

As I was getting a bit bored with all the folding, I started looking more closely at some of the fabric selvedges where details of the design often are. I found names of designers whom I could look up - amazing. This is an example - Eric Cohler is a furnishing designer of some note and this fabric design has a name “Jardin Prive”. When I looked up this particular design I found that lengths of the fabric were selling on eBay for ridiculous prices. I don’t think anyone would be interested in this ‘trial piece’, but it will make me think when I next cut into it for a particulate bit of the fabric!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.