talloplanic views

By Arell

Pottering and fluttering

I was all set to attach my old handlebar bag to Mirabel this morning, having unborrowed it from Dad yesterday and reattached the mounting block, and…discovered that they don't make 'em like they used to.  My whizbang modern touring bicycle has larger diameter handlebars and the clamps of the block don't fit.  Le sigh.  I'll have to buy new ones that do.  Sometime.

So I did some tidying up of the spare bedroom and then went out to the shops to get some special bags to put spare duvets in.  It's all very well living in a house that's freezing cold in wintertime, but in the summertime when the weather is hot, those 13.5 tog duvets sure take up a lot of room.

I took a very offroady way home, and because I was wearing shorts my legs got stung repeatedly by nettles.  On the plus side, I saw quite a few butterflies: three or four Speckled Woods, one of which seemed to prefer the quagmire of the path rather than the knapweed and cow parsley, a couple of Peacocks, which I was pleased about because I hadn't seen any at all this summer, and a Small White, whose wings were so lived in and ragged that I was amazed it could fly.  There was also the pictured butterfly, a female Meadow Brown, which was the only one I managed to photograph.

Back home the duvets were squished up and stored, and I mended my motorbike boot, whose sole was entirely peeling off from the heel!  Something is hinting very strongly to me that I should buy a new pair.  Sometime.

Friday Film Night even though today's Sunday was catching up with the Ghostbusters films, so I watched Afterlife again.  I'd forgotten quite a lot of it.  The bit at the end though is really heartbreaking.  Next FFN will be Frozen Empire which I'm looking forward to watching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.