Mrs P

By mrspuke

Friars Carse

Mr P very kindly made me breakfast in bed this morning as a birthday treat. Once I’d opened my cards and pressies and called my sister, we set off for Dumfriesshire.
Son no 2 gifted me a voucher for dinner, bed and breakfast at this country house hotel for my 60th birthday last year and I thought it would be a good idea to use it to celebrate my 61st. We weren’t aware of the strong links that it has to Rabbie Burns and that he wrote some of his most famous poetry at the Hermitage (small cottage in the grounds) including the lines below, Tam o’ Shanter and Auld Lang Syne. Once we’d booked into the hotel (after lunch and a browse round the vintage shops in Dumfries) we followed in the Bard’s footsteps by walking along the river Nith, past the Hermitage and to Burns’ Ellisland farmhouse. The clouds were louring a lot but it was still a lovely walk.

Life is but a day at most, Sprung from night, in darkness lost; Hope not sunshine every hour, Fear not clouds will always lour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.