curns' corner

By curns

Travelling

I didn’t want to be on the train early this morning. I stopped at the Caffè Nero in Shepherd’s Bush to pick up a latte. Last night, I retrieved some completed Nero loyalty cards from the drawer. I was fully expecting that they would refuse them. To my delight, they accepted them, and I had my free coffee. Afterwards, I had a couple more free coffees from the machine in the office, though they weren’t nearly as lovely as the one from Caffè Nero.

I tried to be positive about spending two hours in a booth taking video calls. I am not sure it worked. There weren’t many people in the building, but I got in-person time with a few, so perhaps it was a win after all. I have some tasks to complete tomorrow.

By 5 pm, people were drifting away. Earlier, PY messaged to say he couldn’t get home before we took the train to the Isle of Wight. I thought I might risk it, but by 5:15 pm, I concluded it was too late. I arrived at Waterloo 100 minutes early for our train. I used the time to pick up some provisions, and later, when PY arrived, we bought dinner from Wasabi. We couldn’t find a place with sit-in tables, so we bought it to eat on the train. We then had 45 minutes sitting with a coffee, waiting for our train to show up on the boards. We worked it out before it was shown and got a table in Coach 1.

There’s no need to be this far forward because we weren’t in a rush when we arrived. There’s plenty of time to wait around for the 21:45 crossing. 

The wait with PY at Waterloo was a reminder that not everything needs to be rushed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.