Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Canal Walk

I haven't done a long walk for some time so, despite my achilles still playing up I walked from Wolverhampton to Birmingham, along the Birmingham Main Line, a distance of just over 14 miles.

It was very windy to start the walk but thankfully it was hardly ever into my face.  A walk of this distance usually allows me to see plenty of wildlife, including 6 herons, numerous ducks, coots and moor hens, even a fleeting glimpse of a kingfisher, but the most unusual was a little grebe and chick.  There was also a constant stream of boats travelling along the canal, something I'd not noticed on previous walks.

I got to Birmingham just before lunch, when this photo was taken where the canal passes between the ICC and Brindley Place.  I stopped for a bit of lunch in Victoria Square and saw the most bizarre sight of a dishevelled man climbing into the pool, fully clothed to collect some coins that had been thrown in.  He was away before anyone could take him to task, leaving a trail of water in his wake.  He must have been desperate! 

A short period walking down New Street then caught the train back.  The achilles was very sore after sitting on the train for half an hour, causing me to limp for a while on the short walk home.  Thankfully, my sister in law is a physiotherapist and has sent me some exercises to see if they will ease the pain.

I've added another image taken in the 330 metre long Coseley Tunnel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.