carliewired

By carliewired

74 F/ 23 C

Cleaning up after
a storm takes teamwork and some
fancy equipment 

~carliewired

I was backing my car out of the garage at 7. I found my cul de sac was the focus of a little flock of chukars. I stopped and pulled my camera off the front seat and rolled down my windows. I counted a dozen and it's hard to determine which are this year's chicks and which are the parents. I find them always so entertaining as they give the funniest poses. 

I drove off to MacArthur Island Park on the north shore to assess the storm damage there. The willow trees and the cottonwoods seem to have contributed the most leaf litter and broken branches. I can see many man hours of work to put everything back in order. Grassy fields cannot be used until the tree litter is cleared. A crew was already working when I drove through. I stopped to take a photo of my mountains and I had a chat with a fellow already busy with the clean up. 

A doe walked along the fence to the baseball diamonds. She browsed the tree near me and peeked out at me. Then she skipped off along the slough. 

I came home with my breakfast and coffee. As I drove in to my cul de sac I found the chukars still scouring the neighbourhood. I had to ease my way down the hill and into my garage without frightening them. 

I'm home with some paperwork this morning, then a coffee date with a friend highlights my afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.