LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

The Mail must get Through

 
The forecast was right after all -the predicted heavy rain at first light came to pass although the high wind took longer to arrive . I aquaplaned down the street to buy milk before a Selkie blew in literally for coffee. From our vantage point behind glass, we watched curtains of rain continuously sweep over the landscape before a pause about lunch time when the sun tried hard to  appear. 

At that point it looked like 2 of us had opted to brave the waves at 2pm. I padded along to the slip but just as I neared it I was aware of the wind picking up and whipping the high tide into something much rougher than it had appeared from my window. I watched the sea and the angry waves hitting the slip at the same time as a pulse of very heavy rain swept in and when the other Selkie arrived in her car we decided it was probably stupid to go into such rough water. In the end, discretion is always the better part of valour and so we turned back. Had there been a few more Selkies present we might have decided differently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.