PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Strange . . .

. . . and a little concerning

I usually count the windows when I do this task of cleaning out the conservatory, including cleaning all the windows, but I didn’t today - there’s a lot. Much as I quite like cleaning windows, I was glad of an assistant this afternoon and the job was done in half the time.

Then we noticed something strange. The windows are usually very grubby, as a result of flies crawling all over them and the sills are usually full of dead flies. Today there was hardly any sign of flies at all. Then we realised that we have not been plagued with flies in here this summer . . . we have had no flies! There are no flies!

Now this is good for us as they can be a nuisance. But it is actually concerning. Has something happened to insects in general this year? Will it be back to normal next year?

NOTE
Gordon had the radio on in the car when he went to the gym and he has just arrived back to tell me about a plague of flies in a village in Wales - so even stranger! What’s afoot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.