LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Stenness Fayre

It’s quite a few months since I felt a tad cold after a sea swim. It didn’t  feel particularly cold in the water and there was no shivering but it did take a while to warm up afterwards. 
 
After dubious weather earlier, the sun made an appearance in time for me to be whisked off to the Stenness Fayre held in the school hall there. My Selkie companion knew everyone and I was introduced to a lot of people. It felt good to actually recognise somebody, baby Lena and her Mum. I watched some Highland dancing by various age groups but it was the little people that I liked seeing especially the tiniest with their cutlasses. 
A coffee and a naughty cake was had before we drove back to Stromness to visit the Nonagenarian with all the interesting stories.

The afternoon turned out very wet but the sun is shining again and the white horses are galloping on Hamnavoe. I have missed seeing the ferry leave for Scrabster but it’s time for tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.