talloplanic views

By Arell

Getting cranky

I thought I had one last card to play, nicking the chainset off my older bike to put on Mirabel and see if it made any difference.  It sure did; the clicking went away and was replaced with worse: a terrible geary, coggy sort of grumbling, graunching sound.  I think the chainring was the cause here because it was made for a slightly wider, older chain.  So, back to the drawing board again, taking things to bits once more and putting Mirabel's chainrings onto my old bike's crank.  And...?  It didn't help either!.  I am beginning to think that for all the talk of old fashioned 7-speed chainrings being compatible with 9 speed chains, I'm not so sure.  It is only a matter of tenths of a millimeter difference but maybe tenths matter more than they care to admit.

So I harumphed very loudly and click-click-clicked my way to the supermarket in lovely warm sunshine for flour because I forgot to get that yesterday.

For what it's worth, at least my workbench is pretty spot on, and the unfashionable old Zyliss vice is actually rather useful. Useful enough in fact that I have three of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.