LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Sunday in Burray

I was tricked today. I call it ‘doing a Sandy’. It involves being pipped at the post for settling the bill for a splendid meal at the Sands Hotel in Burray. It was to be my treat for the Edinburgh visiting Selkie and her son and his partner, but when I went to settle up it had already been sneakily done by her through the sleight of hand of her son’s partner. 
It’s what Sandy did under cover of visiting the toilet. You just can’t win with this Selkie but I can play her at her game when she’s in Edinburgh later next month.

It was a lovely way to spend a Sunday especially with the weather again being grey and cheerless. Before driving to the hotel in Burray we had managed a dip in the sea at the slip in Stromness where I met for the first time since last year my ‘23 Stromness harbour swim buddy. We had both been novices at that swim and kept each other company in what seemed an awfully long stretch of water. It was good to see you again Nancy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.