Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Hereford

WEDNESDAY

I started the day  making a few phone calls, and I’ve now switched dentists to the BUPA practice in Mold. With that sorted, and as it was relatively dry outside, I headed out for a short 4 km walk to the nearby Y Graig Nature Reserve.

After the rain of the past few days, the ground was quite slippery, with plenty of mud and smooth limestone outcrops making the terrain a bit tricky underfoot.The very steep 75m incline wasn’t too bad on the way up, but the descent was harder to navigate, although today I managed without getting a muddy backside.

I had hoped to spot some fungi, but they proved elusive. However, I did catch sight of a speckled wood butterfly, which was a pleasant surprise in the otherwise gloomy conditions.

Later this afternoon, I popped over to Denbigh to run a few errands, including picking up 100 packs of note cards from Neumann's printers. These cards feature the winning entries from the village photography and art competition. The community association will be selling them to raise funds, and I’ve volunteered to help with the publicity.

While in Denbigh, heavy rain began, and it looks like we’re in for a wet evening. Any chance of cutting the fast growing lawns has been ruled out for now.

The Blip shows a single Hereford cow grazing in the field at the bottom of Y Graig. Other Herefords, including calves, were also out grazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.