Roll With It

By Falmike

Great River Race

The Great River Race is London’s River Marathon and it’s what the training, travelling and expense of the last few months has been about.
Following last nights relatively early night this morning I was up cooking breakfast for three fellow ‘Epics’ by 7:30am, at 8:30am I was on the coach travelling through London to Millwall Slip. Learning from last years experience, I grabbed an early coffee before the queue became 200 yards long and then prepared myself for the wait.

The tide started to come in and although our starting slot was not until 2:20pm we were afloat at 1:00pm and rowing against the current to remain stationary,
2:20pm arrived and we were off.

They tell you that Great River Race is a boat race covering 21.6 miles from Millwall in the East to Richmond in the West.
They tell you you will be travelling under 28 of London’s famous bridges.
They tell you it’s a race for ‘fixed seat’ craft only and that various rules govern a large variety of the boats taking part.
They tell you that the rules are based on the Thames Watermen principle in that each crew must carry a passenger and cox along with a 3’ x 2’ flag.
They tell you that handicapping system is used to ensure fair play.
They tell you it’s a great fun day out for both competitors and spectators.
It is fun and a great spectacle for spectators but what they don’t tell you is that for competitors it’s hard work, it’s brutal, it’s hot humid and exhausting.

As this was my second year rowing, I knew what to expect, I felt ‘nervcited’ determined to give it my all and with my seat position I was expected to row the whole race, no swapping in or out.
I’m not the oldest competitor but at 5:30pm I felt my age. We crossed the finish line and I was empty, physically drained, to the point where for a fifteen minute period I couldn’t function.
It doesn’t take long to recover though.
A couple of beers, some hot food and I had recovered sufficiently to walk the tow path to the London Cornish Gig Club to meet Alex, our Coxswain for todays race, and thank him over a couple more beers.
The walk back loosened some muscles in danger of stiffening up.
Arriving back at the campsite it was time for a long hot shower before dismantling the camp ready for tomorrows get away.
I ache in places I didn’t know I had muscle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.