KJD

By KJD

GREECE DAY 2 LWL ON TOUR

Unfortunately our body clocks are very confused. We’d gone to bed early but then there was a party on the balcony opposite until midnight!!! It was noisy but not crazy just lots of chatter celebrating a birthday. Annoying for me but not really bad.

We still got up early and caught our bus and 2 trams into Athens with the help of a kind old local man. It’s a longer; but a more interesting journey and much better than using the metro.

# The Evzones at Parliament.
Watch out Athens here we come!! I have been to Athens probably 30-40 times so I was the tour guide!!!

# We started off in Syntagma Square
and then went to a rooftop bar that I’ve been to many times but never to eat.
#we had a delicious brunch whilst enjoying the views but keeping out of the extreme heat!!! (I’d definitely eat there next time)
We then went to watch the changing of the guards but missed it. As it doesn’t start on the hour it finishes on the hour!!! oops!!

#we got a taxi €5 to the funicular which takes you to the highest place in Athens. The view across the city, the acropolis, the Olympic stadium and to the sea is amazing.

When we came down there was a taxi coming. The driver was sooo charming chatted freely, interested in us and gave us a postcard. Such a nice chat. Shame he took €15 from us to leave us in a part of the city I didn’t know and 20 mins walk from our destination!!! We were so conned and I was livid!!

However being a glass half full person we discovered new cute streets and places to stop.
#Beer stop and a sit down in the shade was definitely needed on route. I had a homemade lemonade and impressed the waiter with my Greek. He then helped with a few more phrases.
#The girls wanted to tourist shop in the old town at The Plaka but I was happy to sit and read and people watch!!!
We walked back up to the guards change and this time didn’t miss it!!!
Then 2 trams back (watching the sunset)to Gylfada for dinner. I was exhausted by this time so we found a near restaurant to have dinner. A very delicious Italian meal followed by ice-cream in my favourite place. Then a bus home and bed!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.