Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

When the boat comes in

I had to be out earlier than usual today to take the car down for an MOT. The garage always asks me to bring it in early, so I was there by 8.30 even though it was apparently third in line. While I was in town I decided to go to the hospital for a hip X-ray - I’d asked the doc yesterday if that was OK. There’s something odd going on - when I saw a physio last week she asked me a number of questions and totted up my score as she went along. The result was that ‘there’s nothing wrong with your hip, only muscle pain’.  The fact that my hip is sore is nothing to do with it - I think it’s a fix to try to avoid hip replacements on the NHS!
 
While in the town I watched a sailing ship coming up to the North Pier under power, at the same time as a fuel tanker drove onto the pier. She’d obviously arranged to refuel. She was the Provident, registered in Brixham, Devon, and sails around the Scottish islands - my Blip today. I’d love to see her under sail - there are some lovely pictures of her online.
 
Without going into details, by the time I’d walked right out to the hospital and back, then up the hill home, I was pretty knackered. I did wonder whether to wait for the bus, but I got back into the town centre before it! Then this afternoon I had to walk back down to the garage to pick up the car, which fortunately passed the test!  Hopefully all will be well for our drive to Edinburgh tomorrow.
 
Quote of the Day: 'Land was created to provide a place for boats to visit.' - Brooks Atkinson.‘

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.