RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Sushi Night

For the past two days I have been watching an online class on food photography. The class has been short on technical details and long of shooting philosophy, which is unusual for photography instruction. The gist of the class is that effective food photography requires the food to be as perfectly prepared as is possible, the arrangement of elements artful, and propping is the key. To my mind sushi accomplishes all three of those criteria, so I was excited to try a few at table photos tonight. Like our previous visit to this restaurant, we came after a volleyball game (this time, however, my men's team lost), so I only had my point and shoot camera along. I will have to get back here sometime with my Canon so I can really attempt some of those close-up, shallow depth-of-field shots that I have been seeing for the past two days, but for now this will serve as a representation of what I have learned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.