Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

EVEN YELLOW ORCHIDS...

...helped me out today with some pink!

I had an appointment at our surgery this morning for a blood test - I never look forward to these - who does - but often it takes more than one go to get the needle into a vein in my arm.  The left one has been obliging in the past, but today, it wasn’t and after two tries, and hitting a nerve in my arm, Amy, the nurse, decided that perhaps she would try the right arm instead.  She did ask how much I had had to drink and when I told her only one cup of coffee, she wondered if I was slightly dehydrated.  Who knew - apart from all you medical people out there - that you needed to be hydrated and then blood would be extracted better?  I shall know for next time!  The right arm was fine and performed well, but it did take her two more goes - just have to wait now for the results to see if my cholesterol has gone down.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t get an appointment until 24th November, so will just keep on with my eating regime and I may even have lost a few more pounds by then.

This beautiful orchid was given to me by a dear friend, Louise - who was baptised back in June at our Church.  I call her my “God” daughter, as I believe that God sent her to me when I was feeling low;  she has been such a blessing both to me and Mr. HCB and we often buy one another little gifts.  She knew I liked orchids, so bought me this a few months ago and it is still blooming well, so here it is in all its glory, with little pink columns, which of course, fits in well with Pinktober and BCAM 2024.

You all know what to do by now - please continue TO CLICK on this LINK - and you can click more than once a day - to enable those who are unable to afford to pay for a mammogram to have a free one.  There are other charities that would appreciate your help too, on the same website, so please carry on clicking!  Many thanks.

We are going out tonight for an Italian meal with our grandson and his girlfriend, so I am steeling myself NOT to have a dessert - and Tiramisu is my favourite, so it’s not going to be easy, but I CAN DO THIS!

Have a great week!  M xx  

P.S. In case you are wondering, the pink at the bottom of the shot is a little pink dragonfly that holds the stem onto the stick supporting the orchid plant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.