ArcLight+

By ArcLight

In and around Old College

Another day in the office. No major alarms. As I was working with my door open, I had quite a few people pass by to say hello. A certain amount of that really helps to oil the wheels of work but it does mean that slower progress on paperwork. My colleague next door was working at home, precisely so she could power through some stuff. I popped into the quad for some fresh air at lunchtime, just about the same time a student led march and demonstration marking the October 7 anniversary arrived. I thought they were going to reinstate their martyrs' memorial but it seemed they did not. All passed off smoothly and in a way I was quite surprised how small the demonstration was.

Later in the afternoon, I met N and A in the quad. They're visiting Edinburgh and had been to see The Outrun, partly on my recommendation. Mixed perceptions. I showed them around the Law School and the Library and then we repaired to the Captain's Bar for a drink, before I went to book group and they went to Mother India and onwards to a gig.

I didn't take any photographs of M's delicious supper for book group, as I knew others would. But it was another great evening followed by a pleasant cycle home through the night. I was back in the flat by 10pm. Having the ebike makes such a difference in terms of range anxiety and ease of getting places around the city.

Back home to ponder for a while, before going to bed, the issue of the cladding (and other fire stopping) works on this building. I received a newsletter from the developer's agent yesterday, which indicated that - contrary to what we previously thought - ours will be the last staircase to be renovated, rather than the first. There was also quite a lot of detail, finally, about how the balconies are going to be managed. They will be removed (and later replaced) by crane, and the crane will be built up through the centre of the courtyard from the minus one car park (right next to my car parking space....), with propping below in the minus 2 car park. I hope nothing goes wrong.... This is all going to be such a big deal and is going to take - in my estimation - at least a couple more years. Mr A and I need to talk about the changes to the sequencing at the weekend and how that affects our own plans. Thank goodness we have Tain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.