Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Achillea/Fernleaf Yarrow

Yarrow is one thing that seems to grow well here and we have shifted our landscaping in front of the house to include quite a bit of it. We still have a section where the grevillea used to be that is awaiting more plants, but we're going to have to go a bit farther afield than our local nursery to find some.

Several nice things have happened today and, probably because I still had the vestiges of a cold, the Covid/flu shots seem to have knocked me off kilter.  I have made my way through the day in rather a daze.

It was downright cold this morning, with a thick, down to the ground fog, so everybody was happy to change our venue back to Trail House where we could sit inside. Perhaps it was preordained in some way, because as soon as Crystal saw us she said she had something for us. She disappeared into the back and came out with a copy of the Vin de Feu poster that I love so much. It's a beautiful work of art, but it also evokes a sort of visceral response for me. I offered to pay for it, but she said the artist didn't want any money, he was just pleased that I liked it so much. I was so touched...And an added surprise was that Dana walked in just after we got there. I asked her how she knew where we were and she said, 'I tracked you'. 

We talked of canning tomatoes, the benefits of reading aloud, the man whose name shall remain unspoken and the effects of storms, not only hurricanes in Florida but firestorms in the West. and that the only way anyone can control the weather is by cutting the amount of carbon going into the atmosphere. There's not nearly enough sense of urgency about making the difficult decisions this involves but the unspeakable man's  only response to California's plight was to tell us we needed to 'rake the forests'. Biden seems to be doing everything he can, but I hope he can up the ante on carbon sequestration and the elimination of fossil fuels.

We went straight from coffee to the framer to get our new poster framed. The cost of a simple frame and museum (non-glare) glass was eye watering but it should be a one time expense and will preserve a very special work of art. The man in the framers was wondering what the calligraphy said, took a picture of it with his phone and got an immediate translation...'Vin de Feu'. While he was doing this, John's watch informed him that his phone was in the unlocked car and he went out and retrieved it. 

I have always referred to my phone as 'my brain' and our devices certainly came to our rescue a couple of times today, although knowing that something or someone always knows where we are can also be a bit creepy. 

Our Kathy and her husband Mike are coming for dinner tonight. It's ironic that on a cold and sunless day Mike is going to give us some ideas for a shade structure. The weather has improved and at the rate I am moving today I think I had better shift into a higher gear....

Hope everyone has a pleasant weekend....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.