Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Raindrops on...

...not roses but hibiscus. One never knows what is going to grow around here and the hibiscus was a bit of an impulse purchase because I grew up with them, but it turned out to be quite a success. They're such saucy blooms!

We made it to the Farmers' Market today and I had just enough energy to trail around, juggling a maple walnut scone, a cup of coffee and whatever purchases John couldn't carry because he was juggling a raspberry scone and a cup of coffee. The remnants of a cold are quite stubbornly hanging on and I'm feeling a distinct lack of energy. This could be partly due to the flu and Covid vaccines on Thursday and possibly the change in the weather, for It started raining while we were there...the first of the season and very welcome. It was anything but a heavy downpour but enough to dampen the ground and refresh the garden.

It didn't do a lot to refresh me and I repaired to the couch for awhile before I summoned the energy to finish a few projects in the sewing room. I've decided to back the little prototype Klee quilt and hang it on the wall permanently, or at least until I get tired of it,  since I've gotten so used to seeing it there. I did the finishing touch on the big quilt, sewing on the sun.

Our Kathy and her husband Mike, who is a general contractor came for dinner last night and we sat outside discussing possibilities for some kind of shade structure over the table. I've always wanted to be able to eat outside but for various reasons, we practically never do. In the case of the table,  it is often either too hot or the sun shines underneath the big umbrella unless it's high noon. I tilts and rotates and does does several other functions, and stands up to the weather brilliantly, but it doesn't protect the table it was designed to cover. We watched the deer make their pilgrimage from the creek to wherever they hang out and the turkeys, several of whom were exploring the roof of Janet and Paul's house below us. They are the bane of Janet's existence because her veggie beds aren't protected by fencing, but we get quitea kick out of them.

I'll be going to bed early tonight and hoping that my energy will be restored....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.