Capital adventures

By marchmont

Preparation

A productive day. Hung up laundry and emptied the dishwasher, readied the bed for Tuesday's guests, assembled lamp #2 (there seems to be 2 bits extra/in the wrong place but it works), took delivery of 2 packages and handed over lamp #1. Tried on the contents of the packages and immediately decided they too will be returned. Went back to square 1 and ordered replacements from Pour Moi. Why is it so difficult to get chlorine resistant swimwear that suits me?

By that time it was well after 1 but I sallied forth to Cameron Toll in sunshine and showers, bought books (is Bookstore Day) and groceries. The latter required yet another tussle with the self checkout till. Luckily the assistant was close by. Then there was the usual queue to get out the car park due to the road closure. 

Made the Christmas cake (one error, it's been years since I made one) and got the pudding mixed up ready to steam. I'm the middle of that the news about Alex Salmond came through. I'll never forget that conversation I had in France with Fidelma about the investigation she did on him decades ago that was buried, hmm. 

Made soup with the about to go over wonky carrots and some other marginal veg. It's a huge pot. I hope it tastes ok. Then ate, far too much, and watched 3 eps of series 1 of 'Show Trial's. iPlayer tells me it's been watched but I have no recollection. Then bed. 

PS: My usual disclaimer, this is not a significant entry due to the way way Blipfoto now counts entries. My 14th anniversary on Blip falls at the very end of December but as I posted entries that predated that after I joined it looks like I've been here longer than I have. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.