Living my dream

By Mima

Tui in the kowhai tree

I am absolutely rapt that the Tuis have been back to feast on kowhai nectar. They are one of my favourite birds and my aim is to provide a good enough habitat that they will nest here. Their nest can't be too far away, but my guess is it's in the village as they are only occasion visitors Chez Mima. 

This was the same scenario with the Bellbirds when I first moved here, but three years ago they began nesting on the property, as a result of which they are here all day every day. In fact, there was a Bellbird in the kowhai at the same time as the Tui; both happily feeding, which belies the myth that Tui chase Bellbirds away. 

My apologies for the rather indistinct photo. It was the best I could do with my old camera.

It has been a busy day, both outdoors and in. We have exam supervisor training tomorrow morning, and I have a swathe of related emails to get through with various attachments. A swathe in this case = 23 emails. The preparation to be a supervisor is taking longer and longer every year.

It reminds me why I'm not an employee any more, except for three weeks in November. 

As a result I've not done much more than glance at Blip, and I'll be offline most of the evening while I recover from more computer time in one day than I've had for months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.