Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Cemetery Stories - Fryeburg, Maine

The Celtic festival of Samhain is fast approaching, a time to remember ancestors, a good time for a cemetery stroll.  I found this stone commemorating a slave named Limbo.  A friend recently published a book on the history of the town and there was a write-up about Limbo.  I superimposed his translation of the stone on it as it is nearly illegible.  I particularly like the little cairn next to the stone with a touching message.  (You can read Limbo's story in the extras) Interestingly, he lived at an in in town, the Oxford House.  I had my wedding reception there in 1998.  My 6th great grandfather was a slave owner on Long Island, NY, an unfortunate discovery during my genealogical research.  Many people don't realize that there were slaves in Northern states.  Another stone that I found told a different story.  (Photograph of the stone in extras.)  Mrs. Phebe gave birth, at 42.  The child died 5 months later and then the mother died a few months after that.  Not uncommon in the early 1800's but touching, nonetheless.  My great grandmother gave birth at 43, in 1896, and little Amy died a short time later.  Thankfully, my great grandmother survived.  So many stories in old cemeteries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.