Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

The calm before the storm

I'd expected to wake up to Storm Ashley this morning, but there was just a bit of a breeze, nothing more than usual. Then somebody said that it was due at noon, but still nothing happened. I had half thought of waiting until high tide then going down to the harbour to capture some gigantic waves - we have a Photo Club competition this session 'Storms & Inclement weather'!
 
High tide's not until 8.30 this evening, so I decided to walk down after lunch anyway. The sea was as calm as a millpond - well nearly. The pontoons in the bay which usually have a number of boats moored were almost completely empty - my Blip today - so the owners were obviously taking no chances. The smaller boats which are usually drawn up on the beach were gone too. 
 
The wind's beginning to get up now, at 5.40, just rather gusty. Wind is the one bit of weather I hate - memories of my gardening days, I suppose, when I would go out in the morning to find 25 big trees down! A wind speed of 103 mph has been recorded this afternoon in Aviemore! Hope we all get through this without damage!
 
Quote of the Day: ‘A great wind is blowing, and that gives you either imagination or a headache.’ Catherine the Great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.