Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

After the storm

Well the wind got up during the evening yesterday and gave us a few frights. At one point the front door suddenly flew open and then a bedroom window was sucked open by a passing gust! By the time we went to bed the worst was over, and the only damage I could see this morning was a couple of potted plants blown over on the deck and my two tall potted climbers mostly ruined. 
 
Heavy rain this morning, so I kept occupied indoors. After lunch I walked down to the seafront and had a wander along the beach - my Blip today. Wotta lotta junk! Mostly plastic. There was some damage to the sea wall and pavement and some coping stones lifted off the wall opposite the Corran Halls, but I think we got off lightly.
 
A slow wander uphill again, interrupted by a long chat with a friend I met in Albert Lane. I often wonder when walking that way if there's a man somewhere called by the name! I'm sure there is!
 
Quote of the Day: 'Be thou the rainbow in the storms of life.’ - Lord Byron.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.